Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help tune newly built delta machine

Posted by charliefd 
Help tune newly built delta machine
September 27, 2019 05:01AM
Hi!

I'm new to this, obviously, and my first build is the assembly of an older "kit" from anycubic called kossel k2 (a delta with 20x20 framing profiles and 180mm max printing diameter). It uses carriages running on the tower profiles (no linear motion rails)

The build feels mechanically sound with several observations:
1. one of the rods is "notchy" in its movement
2. the guiding wheels on the top triangle are not (cannot be) aligned to the motor pulleys and the belt tensioner. That creates a slight angle on the drive belts above the tensioner/carriages, that gets more acute the higher the carriage goes
3. the bed (plate) feels wobbly on the supplied mounts. However, by shuffling the mounts and tightening them against the side of the glass I was able to find a stable bed position (at least from what i can feel)

I've had Z height consistency problems levelling the bed. Turned out to be mostly loose belts, so I've added the springs and was able to get within 0.15mm (isn't it too much still ?)

My first "test cube" printed larger on x and y (was supposed to be 20 by 20 by 10 mm. Measures 10.24mm by 10.55mm by 10.00mm). Should I increase DELTA_DIAGONAL_ROD in firmware? By how much?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Photos of my Delta
Re: Help tune newly built delta machine
September 27, 2019 06:46AM
I'm adding the results of the circle test: A 40mm diameter circle gets printed 40.7mm on Y and 41.04mm on X

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/27/2019 06:47AM by charliefd.
September 27, 2019 02:36PM