Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen7 working with Marlin_v1

Posted by droftarts 
Re: Gen7 working with Marlin_v1
February 20, 2012 06:16AM
Hi scuba/phord
I'm not really sure about what fuses are, I'm still learning my way around firmware. I guess Marlin works for me without changing anything else because I removed the heated bed mosfet and don't have anything attached to the heated bed thermistor or heater header. Just dumb luck on my part!

If the fuses are changed, does this mean that the Gen7 won't be compatible with other firmware that does work, eg Teacup? Could you give some clear instructions about how to change the fuses if it's not just a firmware change? I'd like to solder a new mosfet back on my board and get the heated bed working again.
February 20, 2012 08:23AM
Fuses are used to configure special options on your chip. For example : define size / address for the bootloader; configure brown-out detection; keep eeprom memory stored during resets ;and so on ...
There are 3 fuses (which are in hexadecimal format) you have to deal with: low-fuse, high-fuse and extended-fuse. [www.engbedded.com] -> Fuse Calculator

You have to set your fuses right before you can upload your bootloader. You can do this with avrdude.exe which comes with arduino ide. Take a look at [reprap.org], there is a very detailed documentation on how to write fuses to the chip.

The fuses I've changed tells the chip to keep the eeprom storage during resets (I think you'll need this for every firmware which stores it's config to eeprom) and sets the brown-out detection to 2,7 V. So it shouldn't be a problem to use them with any other firmware.
February 23, 2012 03:43AM
ErikZalm has just merged the changes for GEN7 together with some other pull requests to the "Test" branch. Would be great if you cold try it and give some response.
February 23, 2012 12:09PM