Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen7 & 644PA @ 20Mhz

Posted by JazzyMT 
Gen7 & 644PA @ 20Mhz
February 28, 2012 03:13PM
Hi all,

I'm a complete newb when it comes to Atmel & arduino so forgive my ignorance, but I'm stuck & need help.

I am trying to build my own Gen7 setup. I have a board that I think is fine as far as I can tell. My problem is with the chip.

I purchased a ATmega644PA thinking it was basically the same as the 644P. That may or may not be a problem, but I've narrowed it down to something more fundamental.

I also purchased an STK500 development board so that I could program a bootloader on the chip. I hit a brick wall pretty early in this process. If I insert a 20Mhz crystal into the board, set it to use the external reference - as SOON as I set the fuses to use the external crystal reference ( L:0xF7 H:0xDC E:0xFC ), the chip becomes completely unresponsive. If I change the jumper back to use an internal clock reference, it runs, but the usart speed is all messed up.

When not using an external reference, the programmer seems to work fine. I can program a bootloader, but I can only program arduino programs with the STK500 using the ISP - not through the chip's direct serial port - I assume because the baud rate/timing is screwed up.

I'm using the 20MHz crystal specified in the Gen7 parts list:
[search.digikey.com]