Producing the Gen7 board
January 28, 2013 04:49AM
Hi there!

I really want to thank all of you who contributed to this amazing project. You're all doing a great job.
I'm new to all this and as a real DIYer I want to make my own electronics board, where the Gen 7 seems perfect. I'm experienced in etching and soldering, so no problem there. I have a basic understanding problem, which you can solve quickly I guess smiling smiley

I found the documents for the gEDA/PCB and the release documents as well as the step by step tutorial for making the layout "etchable". Unfortunately I don't use gEDA but eagle and don't have a Linux installed. In the release documents I can find two layouts, one called solder and one called components. I guess these are other names for top and bottom layer? If this is a single layer layout, why are there traces on the components layer? Am I supposed to connect them with wire bridges? And last, if I comply the step by step tutorial on the wiki page, will something different result than the layout in the release documents? Or is this already after this edit?

Thank you!
Re: Producing the Gen7 board
January 28, 2013 07:23AM

Unfortunately I don't use gEDA but eagle and don't have a Linux installed.

gEDA runs on Windows, too: [www.reprap.org] . Requires some time to get used to the different GUI, after that it's even more powerful than Eagle.

In the release documents I can find two layouts, one called solder and one called components. I guess these are other names for top and bottom layer?

Yes.

If this is a single layer layout, why are there traces on the components layer? Am I supposed to connect them with wire bridges?

Yes. This bridge under the Reset switch is connected inside the switch already, no need for a wire.

And last, if I comply the step by step tutorial on the wiki page, will something different result than the layout in the release documents? Or is this already after this edit?