Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ge 6 with Heat bed and seven switch

Posted by Dirkkro 
Ge 6 with Heat bed and seven switch
May 02, 2013 02:47AM
Hi,
I want to add a 12 V heat bed to my Gen 6 electronic.In the documentation it is mentioned that Traumflugs seven switch can be conected to the Gen 6.
Does anybody has done this and can tell me where to conect?

Thanks in advance

Dirk
Re: Ge 6 with Heat bed and seven switch
May 02, 2013 08:22AM
I wish all those people who did this already whould tell us on _how_ they did it. It's certainly possible, all you need is a digital I/O pin, ideally one with PWM.

What's available on the Gen6 board?

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

May 08, 2013 05:39AM
Hi,
sorry I am not an expert in electronic, but try to do my best:
There are two more unused conectors:
one is named I2C (4 pin Molex) , the other is ICSP 2x3 pins ...
maybe useful information?

Maybe somebody knows how to conect a thermistor as first step?
Best Regards

Dirk
May 13, 2013 03:16AM
Note: see last paragraph for short answer.

If you wanted to add a heated bed you'll not only need a seven switch, but also an additional thermistor to monitor the bed's temperature.

Thus this is what we need to get off of the board in order to get this to work:

5V+ (for thermistor)
Gnd (for thermistor and Seven Switch)
Analog Input (thermistor)
PWM output (Seven Switch)

Note: PWM stands for Pulse Width Modulation. Its a way for digital electronics to simulate an analoge output by pulsing on and off quickly.