Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anyone successful with MCP2200 with Windows 7?

Posted by billcat 
Anyone successful with MCP2200 with Windows 7?
November 15, 2013 03:01PM
I have tried everything I can imagine to get the MCP2200 working on Windows 7 machines, both 32 and 64bit, and have come to the conclusion that it is just not supported, regardless of Microchip's claims. I am unable to find any information on this subject that is not extremely technical, beyond my comprehension level.

Here's the details on what I have done:

I basically built the Gen 7 ExtensionBoard-USB-B 1.0(from the schematic) with an Arduino UNO ..... on a breadboard. I anticipated problems with USB as I have had many so far just trying to learn Arduino. I am hesitant to commit to the full Gen 7 v1.5 board build if I cannot figure the basics out first(I am new to microcontrollers).
I downloaded the Windows driver from Microchip onto one 64bit Win7 pc, and also two 32 bit Win7 machines. I thought it should work fine on the 32bit machines, but I read on the wiki about problems with some 64bit machines that were unsolved. I took a chance with the x64 anyhow.
I then connected the circuit to a prototype Uno clone on a breadboard paying close attention to the Gen 7 v1.5 schematic's point to point wiring regarding the MCP2200 . I doublechecked my connections many times.

The first time I connected the circuit via USB was with the 64bit machine. The pop-up immediately indicated to me that the new hardware was properly installed and designated a COM port.
Then I opened up Arduino IDE and uploaded the blink sketch, went off without a hitch, establishing that pc to breadboarded communication was good.
I then cycled the USB connection(disconnected then reconnected it). From this point on, I only get errors that the USB device was not installed properly, and there is no COM port shown in device manager.