Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen 7 Ver 1.5 Endstop Pull up resistor.

Posted by hobergenix 
Gen 7 Ver 1.5 Endstop Pull up resistor.
January 02, 2014 02:01AM
I am bringing up my gen 7 V1.5 board and have loaded the Tcup firmware. I have motors moving
and it is seeing my opto endstops. I am in the process of moving the electronics off my test bed
and onto my Hadron Ordbot frame.

I am going to be useing Microswitches for the endstops until I get proper mounting and sensor trips
in place for the opto sensors.

I have the microswitches wired with the common side to ground and the N/C to signal on the board.
I will be adding a pull up resistor to make it work properly.

Should I add the pull up resistor on the gen 7 board or run another wire and add it at the microswitch.
I am concerned about electrical noise.

I have read that this can be done by modifing the Config.H file in the Tcup firmware but I am new to all
of this and would lie to do that later.

Mike
Re: Gen 7 Ver 1.5 Endstop Pull up resistor.
January 02, 2014 03:37AM
Personally, I think the board should be designed to include the pullup, so that if the wire is accidentally removed/mistakenly not fitted, then the endstop is always seen as tripped - that means a change to the design, but could be done by adding a surface mounted resistor between signal and power on the board (or make it a pulldown and invert the logic in the firmware?)