Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Leaf Labs - MAPLE arduino alternative

Posted by CidVilas 
Leaf Labs - MAPLE arduino alternative
November 09, 2010 03:16PM
Leaf Labs produces a board that appears to be an Arduino alternative. To my understanding, it accepts Arduino native code and has pins arranged in a way to be compatible with current Arduino shields as well (Not Mega).

[www.leaflabs.com]

Haven't found anything on the internets about this board and Reprap, so i thought i'd post here and see if there was anyone doing anything with it.

I bought one and hope to create a shield or daughter board for it and maybe just run the Ultimachine RAMPS code on it. (Im new to Arduino) I am assuming that this is possible considering its seamless compatibility. smiling smiley

Please comment! Cheers!
Re: Leaf Labs - MAPLE arduino alternative
November 09, 2010 06:28PM
You'd need to redo the actual shield, since the RAMPS shield is built for a mega.

Looking at it, it seems like you may just have enough pins to drive all the circuitry required.
November 09, 2010 10:25PM
it has an ARM cortex M3 processor, so you'll need to find some firmware for it. I believe casainho is trying to port some firmware to ARM, and there may be other efforts as well.

It's far more capable than the arduino, so once the firmware hurdle is overcome it should make a lovely controller board.

-----------------------------------------------
Wooden Mendel
Teacup Firmware
November 16, 2010 02:24PM
Greetings all,

I have one of the first-generation leaflabs maple boards. I'm considering getting another (r5) real soon now.
One of the things I like the most about the Maple is that leaflabs tools support both Arduino software (I think they forked the code, and substantially modified it to work with GCC for the Cortex M3 arch.) as well old-school/command line tools.