Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen7T or Toshiba drivers for Gen7?

Posted by bryanandaimee 
Re: Gen7T or Toshiba drivers for Gen7?
March 06, 2012 04:01AM

I'm wondering if I should add the schottky diode in anyway just for kicks.

It reduces ATmega's supply voltage by 0.3 volts, so it might even do the opposite of what you want. The answer is "It depends ..." and if this answer comes up I usually decide for the simpler, leaner way.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

March 06, 2012 06:22AM
Since I'm a pc tech and I know a heck of a lot more about the atx standard vs the other things in electronics, I'd say the 5Vsb has a tendency in all the psu's I've tested to stay fairly stable around 5V (4.75 - 5.25V is the listed 5% tolerance for the atx spec). PC PSU's are not the most stable of power delivery systems this is why most motherboards there days generate their cpu voltage from a 12V line and the voltage regulation is designed to deal with tolerances by basing the regulation not on the supply voltage but a fixed onboard reference. i.e they take the input they use a small circuit that come hell or highwater will produce the same voltage no matter the input and they go base it from that.
if the people use a fairly decent PSU and you use the Schottky diode it could keep the voltage quite stable I mean if the supply on average is from 4.9 to 5.1 and just dips during motor and heated bed starts the cap should keep the 644P running for quite a bit longer than an ATX12V PSU should need to get back to spec.