Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

been gone for a while, whats the status?

Posted by ohiomike 
been gone for a while, whats the status?
April 22, 2008 09:11AM
Hi all,

Been gone for a while, on the plus side I have managed to file my first patent application. Hoping to get back involved in the coming months.

Whats the status on chemical issues? Any news on Furfural Alcohol as a build material. I need to let you guys know that it will likley be declared toxic in the EU in the next 2-4 years. That doesnt mean its any more (or less) dangerous than it has always been but that it is likley to be harder to get.

Any other biopolymers getting press around here?

For those of you who havent ever heard of me, I am a polymer chemist whose employer has a love/hate relationship with Reprap. They love that I study and push scientific boundraries, and they hate that someone could in theory sue them if one of my recommendations were to get someone hurt.

Mike

The views expressed in this post are mine alone, and do not in anyway reflect those of my employer.
Re: been gone for a while, whats the status?
April 22, 2008 11:25AM
Well as of late more people have been looking in to polylactic acid (PLA) as it for one seems to be a bit more common, well at least in the USA. Its made from corn, biodegradable, good for the earth and blah blah blah .... and it seems to work better than HDPE in the current extruder. Granted this is not really my opinion of it as I don't have a reprap yet..more just regurgitation of what others have said here.
April 22, 2008 01:14PM
At least for the time being PLA is likely to be more popular then a lot of the other biopolymers for the simple reason that it is a biobased thermoplastic which is not that terribly common.