Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Resin casting

Posted by Omega 
Resin casting
August 01, 2007 11:35AM
Has anyone explored the method of resin casting for depositing thin layers of material?
[en.wikipedia.org]

Thermoplastics are good and cheap but one can avoid the need for melting/heating by using some material which sets as soon as it is mixed with another.

I guess the liquid will stay on the substrate and will not flow away, if deposited in tiny amounts or sprayed. The 'hardener' can then be sprayed on this layer. Or another way is to mix them in a mixer before depositing on the substrate.

So what do you guys think? Is this practical? Any cheap resins having this property are available?

Sorry, if my terminology is off, I'm new to this fabrication thing and I'm planning to build my own fabricator in near future. smiling smiley
Re: Resin casting
August 02, 2007 08:52AM
I suppose Fernando and myself are the current big pushers for thermoset type systems. I am a chemist working with one of the major producers of those types of systems so its what got me involved in reprap in the first place. I have access to literally hundreds of different types and varities of resins. As well as having access to the PhDs that developed them.

I am currently experimenting with a air powered binary gun that injects both resin and hardener at the same time. The problem is that I am concentrating on filled systems since they are FAR cheaper than pure materials but the filler makes the materials very non-newtonian.

Fernando is working on more of what you described but rather than using injected hardener he is experimenting with blocked cataysts and photo-reactive cataysts. Blocked cataysts have a blocking group that prevents that catayst from becoming active until it is heated above a certain tempature so the idea is to hit it with a focus beam of light to flash heat it. Photo-reatives use laser light rather than heat to generate the catalyst.