Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

SCARA Arm 3D printer

Posted by Napalm1432 
SCARA Arm 3D printer
March 16, 2015 07:01AM
Hello all,

Let me introduce myself first since this is my first post, my name is Raymond and i'm a designer/developer.
I'm currently building a SCARA Arm 3d printer and got some parts working.
I'm using the Marlin firmware by qharley, edited byJCERNY to drive the arm.
So far i got it to home to endstops and make it move. i'm having problems calibrating home positions though and i'm hoping you guys could help.
It's a single Scara arm so it may be different than the usual morgan scara arm, and maybe that's what's giving me problems?
the goal is a single arm, with a theta length of 162 mm, and the same for the psi length also 162 mm.
I got the steps/revolution set right.
Some other problems i'm having is that sometimes when i want the arm to move say 10mm, it just keeps rotating, this doesn't always happen though.
My question here is can you guys help me get this to work since there's not alot of documentation about getting a scara arm to work with marlin.
I made a github for this so if you can please commit changes.
If anything is unclear or more information is neccesary please let me know.

the github can be found here: [github.com]
Re: SCARA Arm 3D printer
March 23, 2015 03:06PM
I've worked out a bit of the kinematics for Marlin using Single Arm Scara.

Bed 0,0 is from Top Right of bed if looking forward and down.

Tower is offset from bed 0,0 - If bed is 200mm x 200mm and tower is centered to bed in X coordinate and back about 120mm (safety), the offset would be 100mm in X and -120mm in Y