Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

started designing a new mostly-plastic reprap SCARA with fishing line motion transmission and unorthodox winch for Z

Posted by realthor 
theothermike
Go ahead with controllers you´re feeling most comfortable. ;-)

Funny you say that considering that I didn't even see a real 3d printer when I started discussing Wally on Nicholas Seward's forum, planning to have it built by someone with a 3d printer in my area. But then, those ideas became another bot altogether. Then I learned about SCARA, then I learned some CAD, then I faced engineering challenges, now software and electronics. I'm a noob at everything here, am quite surprise I can still swim through all this smiling smiley

The sanguinolulu is a "spare" a friend has, so I am most confortable with what I can get my hands on right now and will have to learn everything in the process. This is why this built might take a while.

Please let me know if there is any success with the teacup SCARA. I am mostly interested in that.

Thanks.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/28/2015 08:08PM by realthor.

RepRap Lander concept on Concept Forge
RepRap Lander concept on RepRap Forums
My Things, mostly experimental stuff
Hi guys, I need to take this off my chest. Although the most of the design is settled, the spur-screw winch is something I am not totally happy with. Although I consider the idea awesome and would like to prototype it at some point, I am not confident I understand everything about how it would affect the print. Nicholas was interested in the idea and offered to prototype it some time but also expressed some doubts regarding artifacts it might create on the print and ultimate accuracy. I didn't understand then and I don't now what he was talking about nor do I understand how a left-handed spiral (suggested by him) would help.