Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

So I've got this articulating arm...

Posted by Dalius98 
So I've got this articulating arm...
January 28, 2016 11:04AM
So I've got this articulating arm and I'm not exactly sure what to do with it.
imgur album

A bit of a back-story: I am an "Automation and Control" student (going through the second year atm), and my friend working at a scrapyard got a hold of this equipment thinking it should be of some use to me. Now, because of the slow educational process, I am still going through the basic stuff like maths/physics/simple circuits in my university, and the only stuff I know about CNC equipment is self-taught - which is not much, frankly.
That's why I would appreciate a bit of help, an intro to robot arm control, so I could either discard this equipment as not working, or store it until I am ready to tackle some project with it...

So, the first thing to do, I guess, would be to figure out how to interface with the arm. Since it's basically salvaged equipment (and a one-off project, by the looks of it) I can't get any info on the thing. It would be nice if someone experienced could take a look at it, and tell me how to control it, or what to look for, what am I missing...

There is an RS-232/485 converter on one of the inputs, the rest of them go straight inside the case of the arm. To my inexperienced eye it looks like there might be two different ways to interface with it, or maybe one connector for debugging purposes, but honestly I have no idea. Same goes for the board - I think it it some sort of controller, but it's pretty small compared to the ones used in 3D printers - maybe just a breakout board? imgur album Edit: no motors, so it's probably the right size to be some kind of "encoder decoder" or whatever.