Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Tripteron patent deadline

Posted by alegiaco 
Tripteron patent deadline
September 28, 2021 10:15AM
Hi, i'm interested in Tripteron robot, but I know there is a patent (US 6,729,202) on the machine, but I don't understand if the patent has an end-of-life in April, 2022. Someone understand something about patents? Can the university renovate the patent or the patent will be finally dead in 2022? So starting from april can we build some tripteron robot?
Re: Tripteron patent deadline
October 13, 2021 10:05AM
You can build anything you want that is patented, as long as it is not for commercial purposes. If your intent is commercial, you may have issues.

[scara3dprinter.wordpress.com]
January 23, 2022 02:46AM
According to [patents.google.com] it has an adjusted expiration of 2022-09-12.

I am not a patent expert, but in my understanding the usage of patents is different in different countries. In germany where I live it seems to be possible to use it for noncommercial private use, but not in the US, where even private usage is prohibited.
January 26, 2022 07:55PM
The problem with this is that...

1) Google ISN'T the canonical source of this information. For all of a reason for "accuracy", it's not official in any sense of the term.
2) The claimed extension time doesn't make any sense against the backdrop of the patent itself or relevant US law.
3) It's not that you can't make/use a patented item...you can't disclose means unto which someone NOT skilled in the art can make them themselves in the US, which is why Apsu's implementation stalled. It's quite a bit different if you're like some of us (Waves hand) and are sufficiently skilled in the art. I can make it legally for myself, but I can't tell y'all HOW to do it either...not until the expiry date, that is.

So... Let's break apart a bit of this, shall we...so we're all on the same page so that we can pursue it in a timely manner?

USPTO Patent Link for 6729202