Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRap, Singapore

Posted by xiang hui 
RepRap, Singapore
January 05, 2010 02:49AM
hey i'm a university engineering student and i'm currently doing my internship that involves 3d printing. I'm interested in making one of these RepRap printers! is there anywhere i can start with? like parts for example? anybody could tell me if those parts that need to be purchased wld be available from my region (southeast asia, i'm singaporean.)?

thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/05/2010 02:30PM by SebastienBailard.
Re: RepRap, Singapore
January 05, 2010 02:34PM
[Thread forked by me.]

xiang hui, you can buy a makerbot all in one kit, but shipping from New York City to Singapore will be somewhat high. Makerbot is currently the best store
for electronics and filament. People in the forum sell extruder head
parts. You can source stepper motors in Singapore, I'm sure.

What is your budget? Do these look good?
[shop.sgtooling.com]
[shop.sgtooling.com]

Or this?
[solsylva.com]

What is your tooling like? CNC router, laser cutter, etc? Table saw?
3 axis Mill?

Are you going to want a machine with a cutting spindle, or do you just want to print?
January 07, 2010 08:58PM
Sorry for taking a long time to reply again. I looked at the websites you attached. My understanding (correct me if i'm wrong) of making a DIY RepRap requires only basic tools like screws and screwdrivers and maybe hammer at best to put those parts together? And i'm recommended to buy a Makerbot. Any idea how much it would cost? What about the free parts as mentioned in the main thread where i'd read abt open source parts?

My budget is definitely tight, in Sg dollars not more than a thousand max, though i think if it's worthy of a Final Year Project i could get more? If a RepRap is customizable then i presume i could make mine with its own functions? what about the programming required?