Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Aloha! Introductions Please...

Posted by TerryS 
Aloha! Introductions Please...
July 13, 2010 04:56PM
E Komo Mai Hawaii RepRappers!

I'm new to the RepRap world and I'm eager to locate fellow RepRappers in our beautiful island state. If you live in Hawaii and own a RepRap or are thinking about getting one please join this group and introduce yourself in this topic. Through this hui I hope to:

1. Share our knowledge of local suppliers of the bits and pieces needed for RepRap construction. We all know that living in paradise comes with high shipping costs. Hopefully we can find some good local sources or maybe put together volume purchases from out of state to ease the shipping burden.

2. Have occasional get togethers to share our machines and knowledge.

3. Distribute RepRaps in our schools to supplement their S.T.E.M. programs.

I'm a mechanical engineer and a SolidWorks user. I'm currently gathering all the parts needed to build an Isaac RepStrap. I was hoping to have my son and his friend build this as a summer project, but I underestimated the time it takes to gather all the parts so it looks like they'll have to continue working on it as they start their senior years at Kapolei High. The plan is to use this first Isaac to make parts for a few more machines for the school's technology academy.

Aloha!
Terry

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/13/2010 04:58PM by TerryS.
Re: Aloha! Introductions Please...
August 10, 2010 10:48PM
Wooo! Go Hawaii RepRap User Group! I was wondering how long it would be until one popped up smiling smiley.

Thank you Terry for starting one!

I have been operating a RapMan 3.0 since the beginning of the year. I live on Maui and mostly use Alibre for design. I mostly print things from Thingiverse and I have a few of my own models on there.

It is great to hear that you are getting your son and his school involved! I would love to see more people with 3D printers, especially here in Hawaii.