Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie with a Question : Material sources.confused smiley

Posted by Makurian 
Newbie with a Question : Material sources.confused smiley
November 14, 2011 01:52PM
Hello everyone,

I am Makurian and I am new to this whole 3d Printer stuff, but find it very interesting.

My question is the following : Is there a way to recycle the type of plastics in a medium scale to produce reprap cable bundles ?

The question is relevant because I live in Africa and getting plastic cables shipped all the way from Europe don't cut it to me, neither is it easy to find the reprap graded material easily. But if I can convert local trash plastic into reprap usable wire then the 3D printer gain an almost unlimited amount of raw material. grinning smiley

I have tried to look up around the webs, but failed to find something relevant, so I came here to the source.

My personal project is to design and build a RepRap printable recycling unit so that people can recycle plastics on a small scale for their printers.

I understand that here there are certainly experts on the kind of material used by reprap, hence why I made the thread. smiling smiley

Opinions ? critic ? Ideas ? or am I bordeline insane winking smiley
Re: Newbie with a Question : Material sources.confused smiley
November 14, 2011 07:59PM
It's an active area of research. See [www.thingiverse.com] as one example.
November 15, 2011 04:39AM
bryanandaimee Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> It's an active area of research. See
> [www.thingiverse.com] as one
> example.

>grinning smiley<smileys with beer

Thanks good Sir, I would mail you a Beer for your RepRap to materialize it ... but we aren't in 2500 yet grinning smiley
November 16, 2011 09:29AM
Other projects aiming to recycle old material can be found in the Category 'Recycling' on the wiki: [reprap.org]