Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap Standard 2012

Posted by Buback 
Re: Reprap Standard 2012
March 24, 2012 08:56PM
PLEASE remove the word STANDARD from the page(s) URL and the project name.

There are no such thing as a standard RepRap so.. this project should not be presented as there is either.

Using only RepRap 2012 is no problem at all. If newbies enter the RepRap project believing there is one official standard machine will not be helped by this.. rather confused..

Wake up dudes!
March 25, 2012 09:53AM
I have to agree RoTorIT, I am an admin and I still go to great pains to make sure no one ever things what I say/do is "Official". That's part of the reason why people change the names of the machines they build/run as projects.

Prusa Mendel was named as such because Prusajr did the project. How fair would it have been for some college student from the Czech Republic to call his the Offical RepRap 2010?

Hell, even Adrain Bowyer does not call his RepRapPro Mendel the "Official" RepRap, and it's it's his org. What makes you think YOU, or the small cabal of people who are contributing have a right to designate your prefered machine as the official one?

Let's hope this does not catch on.

repraplogphase.blogspot.com
March 25, 2012 10:33AM
Couldn't have put it any better myself, spacexula.

This is a terrible idea on every level, and discourages innovation.
March 25, 2012 01:22PM
God forbid someone comes along and finds there is a well documented and simple place to start.

Who are YOU to say we can't call something a 'standard' machine. We're not claiming it is "official" by the way, only that a group of users came together, looked at what was happening around the community, and thought; " Hey! This looks like the most common thing going on right now, lets make it easier for a new user to do the most common thing." If you have a better word for this than standard please share your input.