Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

a reprap without steppers..

Posted by roland 
a reprap without steppers..
August 29, 2012 11:13AM
as i just finished my new ABSPrusa [youtu.be] , i am still a beginner.
Thinking of printing a smaller reprap for my outdoor life: [www.liebwink.de] ..

I think, these heavy never-to-be-replicated stepper motors are a dead end.
Why not use these cheap small dc motors that speed up to 10.000 rpm.

(3.99 Euro, new, 28 Watt, 9 V and 0,65Ncm at 4400 rpm [www.ebay.de] )

When repap will be able to print electric curcuits, we can print such motors.
We can print the gearing and a disc with lots of holes to count the motor position.
That will do for the z-axis and the extruder.

And for x and y.. when you open one of these cheap digital callipers, you will find an "optical mouse" inside.
putting such optical mouses onto the x- and y-axis, we can easily get the exact position.
And therefore :-) we can replace the tooth belts with printed tooth bars thumbs up

The cheap dc-motors will be pwm driven, and yes i don't yet understand, why we need such a complicted Sangudingelindon board for $100, when a pic microcontroler for $5 might also do.

and finaly, if the heatbed is only needed to keep the printed objects fixed to the ground, there are others ways, that do not need such an energy waste of 300 Watt.

Which means, a reprap without steppers and heatbed might already be powered by one or two usb ports
and will be a lot cheaper.

Of course there is more: when positioning is done by tooth bars, we can skip the smooth rods and the lineare bearings..
A tooth bar with V-shaped tooths on the upper side and bottom side ..

If you apply this concept also to the z-axis, you get a 100% printable reprap (excluding the printhead, the "optical mouses" and the electronics)

roland
"the little physicist"

first two rules: you always speak yes
Attachments:
open | download - Mabuchi FF230.JPG (8.7 KB)
Re: a reprap without steppers..