Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Controlling feed rates

Posted by Nickolai 
Controlling feed rates
December 20, 2012 10:21AM
I'm very new to 3D printing and was playing with a Prusa yesterday when I started getting some really bad results when trying to print a rubber ducky.

I strongly suspect that this could have been avoided if I had simply been able to slow down the process. It seems like the only way to do this is to rewrite the entire G-code file, since Pronterface does not have any options for controlling the speed during a run (or maybe I missed them?).

I was trying to think about how to remedy this, I suppose at some point pronterface reads a line of text out of the gcode file and sends it to the printer - is there any way to intercept this line, check it for a feed rate, and then multiply that rate by some on screen factor? This is commonly done on CNC mills - the ones I've worked with have simple buttons on the control panel that allow you to increase or decrease the feed rate at will, which is extremely useful both for successfully making the part and preservation of the tool. Would be great if we can replicate this for 3D printers!
Re: Controlling feed rates
December 20, 2012 01:35PM
Went and dug through the pronterface files and seem to have found the appropriate section in printcore.py, in the _send command is where it actually sends the command to the printer. I think that's the place to parse the command for a feedrate and make the appropriate changes, although it will require a little extra work if one wants to change the feedrate after one has been set earlier in the file. I have to say, I'm impressed with the code organization, the relevant line was pretty easy to find!
December 20, 2012 01:48PM
I think the version of Pronterface that comes bundled with Cura has a button that scales the speed of the print. It sends an M code and Marlin does the scaling.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
December 20, 2012 03:39PM