Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing pipe idea and questions.

Posted by Mitchell 
Printing pipe idea and questions.
February 17, 2013 05:30PM
Hi,
I am new to 3d printing but am a Fabricator so see the value and can see several ways I want to apply this. I went the punk route to get my foot in the door and bought a Solidoodle 3. I love the nature of the reprap machines and see possibilities to produce some specialty tools that are priced out of my range now. But I wanted to be printing while I am learning to build a reprap.

I want to be able to print short lengths of pipe, say a few feet to use with printed connectors to build tinker toy frames with. Basically for anything I need a frame for, green house to swamp buggy.

I think being able to print a thick outer solid fill skin while manipulating the center structures could produce pipes with good rigidity and strength compared to standard pvc pipe but stay light weight.

Here is an idea I have to adapt a small reprap to the task.

Fix the bed in the machine at the top of its z axis after cutting a hole in the center of the bed. Mount a pipe vertically bellow the hole. Cut slots in opposite sides of the pipe and mount a horizontal plate in the pipe that can come up flat with the bed and lower down into the pipe as you print.Belt and pulley system with a belt cleat on either side to use the z axis steppers to lower it decently flat. The outer pipe should help slow the cooling process but let it start to set up as it lowers so the weight doesn't deform it. Part of why I want to do it this way is square feet of shop space. Taller machine is better than a wider machine for my needs.

Questions,
1 How well do the layers bond? Would it be better to print the pipe horizontal so the layers run lengthwise?

2 Say my pipe is 3" dia and an over all fill of about say 50% with a 1/4" solid skin. Will it slump under its own weight?

Thanks and thanks for everything this community has already done.