Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My own 3D printer design: comments and criticism

Posted by mman1506 
My own 3D printer design: comments and criticism
June 21, 2014 12:07AM
I wasn't really happy with the 3D printers currently on the market (low speed, weak construction, high moving axis mass) so I designed my own. I have some limited experience with my own Makibox 3D printer already and I've built a few CNC routers.

I haven't finished CADing most obvius being the stepper mounts and the hole patterns for the gussets but I want to figure out whether this is the direction i want to go in before putting more time into this design.

It's a H bot XY design using HiWIN linear rails to hopefully avoid the racking issue associated with the H bot style. The focus of the design is high speed printing so keeping the mass of the moving axis as low as possible and reducing backlash with easily tensionable belts was a high priority. The fixed idlers are on clamp so they can be quickly tensioned. I've decided to build it with welded/gusseted 1X1 box tube as it is cheaper and stiffer than t slot extrusion.

I have a few questions.
1) Is the E3D v6 hotend the way to go? Is there a cheaper hot end that is equivalent?
2)What's the best bowden extruder currently?
3)Should I go up to a 8mm rods over the current 6mm rods?
4)I'm interested in designing a heated enclosure over a hotbed similar to the stratasy printers. Has anyone built a working printer using this technique?
Re: My own 3D printer design: comments and criticism
June 22, 2014 04:26PM
1) Yes, unless you want to pay the big bucks for something I've heard [not experienced, but from reliable people whose opinions I trust] is most excellent indeed, then pay the big bucks.
2) Same manufacture, Micron, creates a bowden version. But since I don't have much knowledge in the way of bowden, my suggestion here could easily be moot through my ignorance.