Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New 3D printer design for discussion - let's call it In-line design

Posted by boylucky 
New 3D printer design for discussion - let's call it In-line design
February 26, 2017 03:46AM
Hi all,

I just got an idea for a new 3D printer design and would like to share it with you and also get your opinion about it. I am not an engineer smiling smiley so please take this into account when reading my post. It is currenlty only an idea. The core of the design is that all rails are placed on one alu profile let's say in one line. That is why I called it in-line design. X and Y move is base on two carriages placed on one rail. There are rods going from each carriage and the rods are connected together on the end. There would be placed also the extruder. Let say something like a scissors. Then there would be another rail wich would drive the table on Z axe.

I will try to meke a simple picture of this design and will attach it here later for better imagine of the idea.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/26/2017 03:05PM by boylucky.
Re: New 3D printer design for discussion - let's call it In-line design
February 26, 2017 09:10AM
My imagination just made a picture of such a thing, but the rods collided with the part, when it gets higher?
February 26, 2017 12:33PM
RU speaking of something like this?

February 27, 2017 02:04AM
I think I get the idea, it is similar to a SCARA like this one:
SCARA 3D Printer

But not with static arms and the whole diamond shape they form, only half of it.
Move them at the same direction and there's the X axis, move them in the opposite direction and there's the Y axis. Could work. smiling smiley

You'll need to make the arm sturdy like the SCARA, because if you move the carriages next to each other to close the scissors, then the arm will go out long, with the extruder at its end.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/27/2017 02:06AM by Hubberthus.
February 27, 2017 07:42AM