Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A new 3D printer design

Posted by TheHackerArtist 
A new 3D printer design
May 26, 2017 01:07AM
Hi RepRapers,

I've been working on a new 3D printer design for just over a year now and wanted to share my project. I will be spending most of my summer on this and plan to offer workshops building this printer by July.

This thread will serve as a log as I go through the testing and refinement of the printer.

If you have feedback, comments, ideas or know of similar work, feel free to share your thoughts here.

A bit about me: I have been building and designing 3D printers for about 4 years now. I am currently completing my undergrad in mechanical engineering.

The intention behind this 3D printer was to build a machine that:

Is mechanically robust, so as to push Jerk and the resulting printing speed as high as possible without introducing ghosting. In numbers : Reliable and ghosting free 300mm/s printing with PLA
Is fast and easy to assemble so the machine could be assembled in a workshop setting with ease and maintained without hassle
Is made of as many reusable parts as possible so if the printer becomes obsolete over time all it's parts can be simply repurposed for other projects
Can reliably print flexible materials
Has fast bed heating times and can heat up to temperatures suitable for polycarbonate printing (150C)
Can easily swap nozzles for printing at various sizes and with various materials without risk of cloging
Is simple and actually works rather than having a bunch of nice features and gimmicks, the emphasis is on reliability, speed and print quality before being user friendly
All while keeping costs as low as possible
Can print human size object ( like a big mask, a forearm brace or a tibia replica)