Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python

Posted by justine.haupt 
Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python
October 05, 2017 05:09PM
Hello,

I've been commissioning a homebrew large format printer for a couple months now, pulling my hair out with redesigns to fix various mechanical issues as I go.

The machine in question is large (24" square build surface) and I went with a 4 linear shaft + 4 leadscrew arrangement belted to 2 motors. Learning an alignment/setup process has been painful and hindsight is 20/20, but long story short I have a periodic error in the Z movement which is likely due to eccentricity of the pulleys. Using a digital drop indicator revealed a periodic deviation of -.013mm to .042mm from the nominal Z movements with a period exactly equal to the leadscrew pitch.

This causes fairly extreme horizontal banding in my test prints and needed to be corrected.

I had already redesigned the Z motion system once, and considering the error is predictable, I wrote a simple Python script to post-process any gcode I run to imprint a negating deviation, being sure not to exceed the Z step resolution (5um in my case). This also required that I clock the leadscrew pulleys to be synchronized.

Here's a print without correction:

And with:

See here for a couple more photos: [lightsmithscientific.com]

For me this is a temporary solution, but if anyone has a need I went ahead and put the code on GitHub: [github.com]

~Justine

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 10/05/2017 05:14PM by justine.haupt.
Re: Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python
October 06, 2017 02:37AM
Interesting solution, but I like it. Even though it's a bandaid fix, the results look pretty good.

+1 for thinking out of the box!

But what are your plans on fixing the mechanical error? If you share pictures of your build we might be able to help come up with some constructive suggestions.
October 06, 2017 10:37PM