Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Home Brew Printer Development

Posted by Spitiemk4 
Home Brew Printer Development
May 13, 2020 07:50PM
I took to making my own printer when laid up following a nasty car accident, I am a controls engineer with a history in CNC and robotics, so it was a fun project.

Once I had it assembled and moving, it went on the back burner due to surgery and bones being re-broken and reset in different places - repairs to me following the car accident.

So it was probably 18 months before I dusted it off and got it printing, I spent most of the time improving the poorly printed kit of parts I bought on eBay for the original build. It’s not pretty but it’s lots of fun.

Once I ran out of printer things to print I started on an inmoov robot, I have printed the arms head and torso, almost completely but got weary of waiting for prints. I decided to sketch up and print another printer, I don’t like the DIY threaded rod assembly types, so designed a printed A frame and sketched the parts up via TinkerCAD, importing STL’s for other machines and butchering them to my needs and sketching up a lot of my own new parts.

The final result is a lovely working printer, very few teathing problems in calibration and set-up, basic control system, no whistles and bells like bed levelling or LCD display, but prints really well with great adhesion.
So I thought I would CAD it up and get rid of the bodges, still a little work to do on wiring channels and electronics mounts but I have assembled all of the parts virtually in the CAD package to make sure they all fit and line up, so after a little more tweaking, printer 2 will create printer 3!
See attached pictures below.

- 3D design Now all CAD’d up and trial assembled in CAD package

- Assembled working prototype - parts sketched via TinkerCAD and exported ( probably a printer and a half in scrap - not quite there parts!)