Custom feature in Marlin
January 21, 2021 11:35PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this(so please bear with me). I am trying to add my own features to Marlin and would like to know how and where I can add the following features. These features are for a Laser cutter I'm trying to build with the marlin firmware on an mks gen v1.4 board. The software upgrades will be mainly for automatically controlling the cooling system.

1. The first feature is to switch on and off the cooling circuit using a 5V relay, connected to one of the digital pins and controlled based on the temperature of the water or other part using a thermistor to read the current temperature.
2. To switch on the air assist pump during the laser running time or print time.
3. To switch on the exhaust fans and to leave them on till 10 mins after the final cut has been completed.

Thanks in advance

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/21/2021 11:36PM by Shakthi.
VDX
Re: Custom feature in Marlin
January 22, 2021 02:13AM
... this is mostly done per G-code "M42 P.. S.." where the dots represent the pin number and set status (0 or 255) ...

Viktor

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
January 22, 2021 05:53AM
I understand how the M42 Gcode works. I want to write the code in the firmware itself so that it works without the host having to intervene to start and stop these devices. The thermistor assigned for the function should be reading the values based on which the pins get triggered ON/OFF based on the temperature reading. Thanks
Shakthi
VDX
January 22, 2021 07:53AM
... then you have to modify the related routines on your own.

I've done this for some M-codes and added new M-codes too for some "special" functions for specific problems (mostly dispenser or laser related) ...

Viktor
--------