Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to Huxley : Z probe

Posted by paulnd 
New to Huxley : Z probe
January 03, 2014 04:35AM
Hello,

I'm very pleased with my newly built Huxley and I'm now looking at adding a Z probe.

I'm planning a simple, manual probe to set up the bed rather than an automatic probe at the start of each print.

I've dug into the firmware and this appears to be supported? If so, I'm a bit confused by line 130:

Wire bed probe to A2 on Melzi and duplicate cap/resistor circuit in schematic.

Is this the end stop schematic?

I've searched this forum and others but the only information seems to be for non-Huxley printers, as I'm still new to this I'm not sure about compatibility with other printers etc.

I'll be very grateful for any assistance please. I am delighted with my Huxley printer and my first steps into 3D printing!

Thanks in advance

Paul
Re: New to Huxley : Z probe
January 07, 2014 02:32PM
Talk to reprappro, (presuming you have a reprappro Huxley)
There's a bed levelling track round the edge of the PCB, the screws complete the circuit or something, so you can tell when your hotend hits the bed, or something ?!?

Never used it, or looked at how it should work, but have heard of it !

Dave.
January 12, 2014 09:26AM
@Paul
Yeap, it's about the endstop schematic. The probe is actually kind of mobile endstop. The schematic is actually a filter to debounce the microswitch. Since you connect the probe to another microcontroller pin, you need to add that circuitry to have a reliable function.
In case of RepRapPro Huxley, the "built in" probe on the PCB is not so reliable (hence no actually delivered as standard). You can find some arguments on the RichRap's blog.
You may alternatively consider the auto bed leveling in the latest release of Marlin.
February 14, 2014 10:58AM
I think cajun-cat has a nice approach with a software assisted bed levelling feature.
[github.com]