Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

my thoughts and problems i see on the project

Posted by puggybelfast 
my thoughts and problems i see on the project
December 11, 2014 08:37AM
I've been following this project for a long time, checking in every few months to see what progress has been made, and i do think there is a lot of potential for this but.... (here come a lot of my thoughts)

Firstly i have a degree in electrical and electronic engineering so i do have an understanding on complicated things but when i look at the pages here i go cross eyed and i'm sure it's even worse for those interested enthusiasts who have limited technical backgrounds. While it might take a bit of work the project needs to be simplified over multiple pages, breaking each part down with a simple how to part and possibly a more detailed why part for those interested. It may even be worthwhile setting up a new website to do just that with different sections for different versions.

Now onto the problems i see with the actual project mainly size and power requirements because on the first paragraph it says this project is for an affordable home manufacturing system which the current design definitely is not. The first and most important is the power requirement for a purely safety aspect. In the design you have a 'up to 5kw' convertor, however, i don't know what it's like in other countries but here in the UK if you went up to 5kw you would be blowing up fuses as we use 230v and 13amp fuses meaning on a single ring in the home if you can't go above 3kw. When you consider you'll probably have other devices on that ring including a computer to run the printer the most you would want the entire printer to run at at maximum would be 2kw. Using a smaller beam at a slower build rate would be needed be within a home users reach.