Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Experience needed

Posted by cmiller 
Experience needed
August 19, 2012 02:19PM
Hello all I am new to the reprap community and have just finished building a Mendel Prusa with ramps 1.4 electronics. I am definitely an amateur when it comes to electronics, I know just enough to get myself in trouble, so I was hoping that I could find someone who would be kind enough to help me with my lack of experience so I don't fry any of my electronics. Please excuse my lack of knowledge and thank you in advance for any insight or help you may be able to provide.

I built my power supply with an ATX PC power supply that says it provides 380 watts with 18 amps on +12v1 and 16 amps on +12v2. I tested the output of each terminal with my multimeter and all my readings seem to be good, I think, I get 12.23 on the +12v terminal, -11.54 on the -12v terminal and 5.15 on the +5v terminal. My supply did not have a -5 supply.
My questions are:

1) Is this sufficient power for a MK 2 heat bed, 5 nema 17 stepper motors as well as the other components of the machine, hot end, thermistors, etc.

2) I don't understand the positive and negative terminals of the DC power supply, do I connect two leads from the +12v terminal to the positive sides of both the 11a and 5a terminal on the ramps board or is the -12v terminal on the power supply supposed to provide the other power to either the 11a or 5a terminal.

3) As far as the 3 pins next to the reset button the ramps board go does the +5v lead from the power supply go to the vcc pin and the ground terminal lead go to the 5v pin next to it or is it opposite that.

4) Can I hook up a 12v cooling fan too the D2 12v AUX pins on the ramps board, is this the purpose of the pins and does polarity matter.
Re: Experience needed
August 19, 2012 03:10PM
Ramps just takes 12V. You can ignore the 5V and the -12V.
18A should be fine.