Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CNC Soldering Machine; any advice or tips?

Posted by Killjoy17 
CNC Soldering Machine; any advice or tips?
January 01, 2020 09:58AM
Good day everyone! I am still new to this forum and to RAMPS in general so please understand.
I am currently a student taking Electronics Engineering and our final study/research is to create a CNC-based soldering machine. We are currently utilizing the RAMPS 1.4 board along with an Arduino Mega and NEMA 17 Motors. We are also using the Marlin firmware.

Our desired process is this: 1. The program ExpressPCB (a software for circuit design) will generate a .dxf file of the holes of the PCB; 2. The .dxf file will be converted to g-code; 3. That g-code will be loaded to Pronterface; 4. The motors will move the soldering iron to the first coordinate; 5. A servo will lower the soldering iron to the PCB; 6. A motor will extrude some soldering iron for a couple of seconds; 7. The servo will lift up the soldering iron back up and proceed to other coordinates until finished.

At the moment, our current progress is that we are now able to send commands to the motors via the Pronterface program. Not much but we're currently working on it. We are now also able to visualize the g-code of an example circuit in the bCNC software

I guess what we wanted to know is that is the process even possible in the first place? We've seen some amazing machines done with the RAMPS board but we didn't see anything with a concept similar to ours. We also wanted to ask for some tips or advice or really anything to help us out in this project, as we've never done anything related to RAMPS (but we do have some experience in Arduino in general).

Thank you for taking the time to read this, any help would be greatly appreciated!
Re: CNC Soldering Machine; any advice or tips?
January 01, 2020 10:29AM
You mean like [www.youtube.com]

And there are others... but cant find them quickly...
January 01, 2020 10:31AM