Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cannot connect to RAMPS to upload new firmware or with Pronterface

Posted by prcdslnc13 
Cannot connect to RAMPS to upload new firmware or with Pronterface
November 19, 2012 01:02PM
Hi I'm new to 3D printing and the reprap world but not to cnc and arduino. I started assembling the motors and endstops for my prusa this weekend and wanted to test them with my RAMPS 1.4 board. This is a pre-built board from ultimachine and has sprinter pre-loaded.

I connected 1 motor to the board just to test with and tried to connect to the board with pronterface. I hit the connect button the port set to the only available port in the drop down and the "connect...." just sat there.

I then opened Arduino 1.0.2 and tried to upload the "TEST" firmware from the wiki and received this message:
Binary sketch size: 7,766 bytes (of a 258,048 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer

Im at a loss now. Only one LED lights on the RAMPS board, the one next to the screw terminals at the top left. Ive tried this in both ubuntu and Windows 7 for both scenarios. HELP
Re: Cannot connect to RAMPS to upload new firmware or with Pronterface
November 19, 2012 09:16PM
Your serial communications is not working at all for some reason. Wrong device choosen in Pronterface/Arduino IDE, no juice for the ATmega or something like that. Does the new serial device even appear in you PC operating system? Can't say the details, never seen a RAMPS.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

November 20, 2012 05:22PM
HI prcdslnc13,

Have you tried plugging in the Arduino Mega board by itself by taking the RAMPS shield off the Arduino Mega? This will cut the problem in half (ie: figuring out if it's the Arduino Mega or the RAMPS shield). You can load the firmware without the shield being present.