Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help connecting PSU to ramps.

Posted by Drangid 
Need help connecting PSU to ramps.
March 18, 2013 12:11PM
Hello all,

I'm a total newbie with electronics, so I apologize if my terminology is off.

My kit came with an ATX PSU and I am trying to connect it to the ramps 1.4. I cannot figure it out through the wiki or tutorial videos. My ramps board does not have a molex connector, but instead has a mosfet terminal. Should I be cutting off the molex connectors from my PSU and sticking them into mosfet slots? Which wires should I be using? When I see the following image:

http://reprap.org/wiki/File:Rampswire14.svg

I get the feeling that I want to cut and use the wires from the 4 pin (2x2) molex connecter because it has 2 black and 2 yellow, and then fasten them into the mosfet labelled 11a/5a, but I don't want to assume this. I also don't know what the L, N and G labels are.

I'm actually getting the sense that a ATX PSU isn't appropriate for this at all. I'm also uncomfortable making these connections. I have access to a 12v 200w power supply: http://www.a2aprinter.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=33&product_id=53. I am attaching a heated bed, and the product description on this 12v power supply mentions that. The heated bed was optional with my kit, should I have gotten the 12V power supply instead of the ATX?
Re: Need help connecting PSU to ramps.
March 18, 2013 01:02PM
You cannot follow that rampswire14.svg picture to wire the system. Instead you can follow this: [www.wikihow.com] and then just connect 12 V and GND to RAMPS. Note that both 12V and GND have two terminals in RAMPS, you can just jump wire the other pair.