Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D printing with Matlab

Posted by CountVlad 
3D printing with Matlab
April 22, 2013 09:35AM
Hi,
For my senior project design I would like to create a 3D printer controlled by matlab. To make things easier I would like to use the Ramps 1.4, Arduino Mega 2560 and Pololu Stepper Drivers, but I'm not sure if they can all be controlled by matlab since I'm new to the subject. I know that the arduino can be controlled but I am not sure how the other two devices interface with each other. Does the arduino control the ramps and the pololu?

The other question that I have is how would matlab have the arduino print the 3D part? I know matlab can read stl files, but would I have to create a code that can take the stl file and send each xyz axis coordinate to the arduino?

I've been doing some digging for the past couple of days regarding matlab and arduino but I cant find anything on the subject. I'm only looking to get on the right path, get some answers and see if a project like this is worth doing. I know I could buy or put together a printer with software that can print the parts for me but that's not what I want to do. I would like to integrate and have matlab print the parts for me.

Thank you
Re: 3D printing with Matlab
April 22, 2013 02:58PM
Just the other day someone was asking how to do a similar thing with Labview, also without really having done enough research into what is actually required. Neither Labview nor matlab in my opinion would be suitable tools for 3D printers. It's like saying "I have a hammer, and I want to build a car. I don't know how cars work, but can anyone help me build a car with a hammer?"