Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

GADGETS3D LCD and Shield with Marlin - Having Probs

Posted by wallyblackburn 
GADGETS3D LCD and Shield with Marlin - Having Probs
May 03, 2013 04:14PM
Hi folks, super-newbie here. I am building a MendelMax 1.5 using Gadgets3d RAMPS kit with their LCD and Shield.

First, let me say that I don't have any of the electronics even connected yet, so maybe I shouldn't expect the following to work - please tell me if that is the case. Anyway...

I downloaded the latest Marlin, uncommented #define G3D_PANEL in configuration.h, verified, and downloaded to my Arduino/RAMPS/G3D Shield and LCD. No errors, but all I get on LCD is blocks. I adjusted contrast. I'm using the shorter cables (I'd expect garbage if it was cable shielding issue).

Shouldn't I at least get the intro screen? Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Wally
Re: GADGETS3D LCD and Shield with Marlin - Having Probs
May 03, 2013 07:20PM
Hi Wally,

Do the blocks disappear at some point when you are adjusting contrast?
Your problem seems to be related with contrast adjustment.

Andromedabots -> EU reprap printed parts and electronics supplier
May 03, 2013 08:25PM
Make sure your 2 cables are not reversed. If it was a shielding problem you would see garbled letters and characters.
May 05, 2013 12:49AM
i have the same board and shields from gadgets3d.

make sure pin 1 of your cable is connected on both the lcd pcb and the shield. pin 1 is marked with a red line.

there are many lines in the configuration that needs tweaking. one is the motherboard type which should be 34 if you are using ramps 1.4. have you done that?
May 05, 2013 09:31AM
I really appreciate your reply.

I will verify the pin 1 connections. The cables are keyed to only go one way, but I'll verify.