Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Powering a 24v heated bed via RAMPS

Posted by jbernardis 
Powering a 24v heated bed via RAMPS
June 06, 2013 12:40AM
I'm no electrical engineer, but I was trying to figure out if the 11A rail of the RAMPS board could be powered with 24 volts instead of 12 so that I could use a beefier heater. I'm building a delta printer, and the heatbed is going to be a circle about 280mm in diameter. I found a kaptan heater at Trinity Labs that would be large enough, but it runs on 24v.

I looked at the RAMPS circuit diagram, and the 11A rail goes to the D10 terminal block and that's it. Obviously the current would also flow through the MOSFET and a couple of other passive components, so I'm not sure if I'd blow something by doing this.

Alternatively, I could use the RAMPS to operate a sufficiently rated relay which would then switch the bed on and off. I figure the relay would be good enough since the bed uses the band bang approach; I don't see the LED for the bed flashing like I do the one for the hot end.
Re: Powering a 24v heated bed via RAMPS
June 06, 2013 07:00PM
Using 24V on just the 11A rail (for the heated bed only) is fine, though for safety I would remove the 11A PTC fuse (which is only rated at 16V) and either:
Replace it with a wire link, and put a 10-15A fuse on + side of the 11A input.
Replace the PTC fuse with 10-15A fuse directly (eg: buy a fuse holder and solder it in place of the PTC fuse).

If you're not comfortable doing that, then you can buy an SSR (Solid State Relay) that you can use to control the heated bed. One advantage of this is that the grounds of the two power supplies do not need to be connected.