No Power To Heated Bed
May 31, 2014 04:13PM
Hello all,

I have been using my printer for several months now. I just recently printed a part that took 22 hours and then after about an hour break I printed another part that took 7 hours. During both prints everything worked just fine.
When I went to preheat for my next print I got no temp. change on the heated bed.
First, my RAMPS board is from reprapdiscount.

LED 2 is NOT lit.
Voltage from my power supply is 11.99 and 11.96 at the RAMPS board. My PSU is rated 12V 30A.
I checked voltage at D8 and get nothing. Perhaps I'm measuring this wrong. Should I probe one of the D8 screws and put the negative probe to the ground at the PSU? (I'm such a tool and over think everything)
I checked heated bed Ω. It's good.
With the PSU unplugged and disconnected from the RAMPS board I checked Ω on both RAMPS fuses. They're good.
I checked diode (D2) and have a reading of 493 mV when I connect the negative multimeter probe to the cathode. I get 1419 mV when I reverse the probes.(the negative multimeter probe connected to anode.) I'm a newbie when it comes to digital electronics but the 1419 mV seems odd. I understand that a diode is essentially a check valve, but shouldn't the 1419mV value be lower?

I've read that it could be the MOSFET. I guess that is the next thing to check, right?
I have noticed that others have replaced the fuses with replaceable fuses. I would definitely like to do this but I'm not aware of what size/rating of fuse to get. Any help with this would also be appreciated.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/31/2014 04:15PM by Miterez1.
Re: No Power To Heated Bed
May 31, 2014 10:15PM
The 2 pins on D8 are a constant +12V supply and the FET which switches to ground.

If neither pin has 12V on it, then F2 (the 11A PTC fuse) has tripped.

If you're going to swap it for another fuse, I'd recommend either a 10A or 15A auto fuse.