Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rumba USB Connection Issue, could use some advice

Posted by roygpa 
Rumba USB Connection Issue, could use some advice
November 03, 2014 11:30AM
I have a couple of Rumba boards that I bought thru Reprep Discount about 18 months ago. I set one up to run my Lulzbot TK-0 and then didn't use it for the past year.(Was using mu Prusa printer) Now I am having issues with connecting either Rumba board to a desk top or lap top machine. If it connects and starts printing, it will just disconnect a few minutes later. I have tried the troubleshooting info found on the Rumba Wiki (below), trying to get the 16U2 on the boards to re-flash (using windows and a program called Flip. I can't get Flip to connect to the board. I am not a Linux user so I tried Windows. Right now I do not have a Smart LCD hooked up to the Rumba but have one on order. Using the LCD instead of the computer would be great if it maintains the connection.

Has anyone run across this issue? If so, how did you fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Troubleshooting from the Rumba wiki

USB connection (Writing in progress)
Symptoms: Without any reason, the USB connection to the RUMBA is not possible. When connecting the USB cable to the computer, the operating system does not see any device. If the board is provided with a SD card reader, printing with a SD card is still possible.
Correction: First, be sure that the problem is not due to a bad position of the power jumper. The problem could be caused by the USB2Serial firmware. Then, you should flash the firmware following these steps:
Set the power jumper in "USB powered" position.
Place a jumper slightly on the two pins pointed by the white arrow (see picture below)
If the board is not mounted on your printer, place it on a clean, dry and insulated surface.
Connect the USB cable on the board, and connect it on your computer