Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Replacing the PTC Polyfuses

Posted by Garry Bartsch 
Replacing the PTC Polyfuses
November 17, 2014 06:44PM
I haven't read many good things about the RAMPS polyfuses and people replace them with regular fuses so I'd like to do that. I think its simple but since I'm new to electronics I want to make sure.

Should I buy some of these automotive in-line fuses? In-line Car Truck Automotive Standard Blade Fuse Holder Fuseholder. Desolder the polyfuses, and solder the new fuses in? Anything to watch out for?

Thanks in advance.
Re: Replacing the PTC Polyfuses
November 17, 2014 07:33PM
Well I know it doesn't answer your question, but I have never had an issue with my polyfuses in over 2 years of operation. You can certainly replace with the fuses you are talking about, but if they blow, you will need to replace the fuse. The polyfuse, on the other hand, will reset.

Make sure your fuses are for the proper amperage - 5 and 11.
November 18, 2014 02:39AM
I agree. If you haven't even used the board yet there is no reason to change them - though you can if you want of course. The important thing, is to have a fan constantly blowing across the polyfuses and mosfets when using the printer.

November 18, 2014 03:19AM
As someone who has endless issues with Polyfuses, I would recommend replacing them from the start like you're planning.

Using a fuse-holder like that will work fine.

The issues I constantly get with the Polyfuses are:

1. They don't really protect anything, since they take ~20 secs to trip. If your PSU doesn't shut down, other things are more likely to be damaged in that 20 secs. If you have a fairly capable PSU and a short, this can actually lead to the Polyfuse catching fire as there is too much energy to dissipate, even if they've got a fan pointing at them.