Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Motors not moving

Posted by Ramon3D 
Motors not moving
December 10, 2014 02:05PM
Hello everyone

I'm currently building a 3D Printer for a school project. All the mechanical stuff went pretty good so far since I'm a Design Engineer apprentice... But I'm not that experienced with electronics... I've already built a printrbot simple and a Prusa I3, but those two were kits, and now I'm building it with self sourced parts. Now here's my situation: I'm trying to get the motors working. Since the mechanical parts are currently being made, It's just the 24V Ramps 1.4 with A4988 G3D Drivers (the whole thing was a kit from Gadgets3D) and the motors. I already broke one Arduino because I connected the Endstop to the wrong pins. So I already replaced the Arduino, and I also bought a "normal" A4988 Driver.

Now on to the Problem:
The motors just aren't moving.
I already searched on the internet, and here's what I found and did. I always only used 1 driver and 1 motor, no endstops, and with the Ramps Test Firmware (the 4 LEDs are blinking)
- I adjusted the driver like I read on the internet (turned fully counterclockwise, and a quarter back)
- I switched Drivers (switched between G3D drivers, and also tested with the "normal" driver)
- I switched between X, Y and Z on the Ramps
- I switched Motors (I'm using NEMA 17 40mm 1.2A/2V)
- I switched Motor wires
- I tried all of these also with Marlin and Pronterface

and after all of that there's still nothing moving.

Could someone help me, please?

(This is my first post on this forum.. so I'm sorry if it is in the wrong place...)
Re: Motors not moving
December 10, 2014 07:21PM
Without the endstops your motors may not move depending on how they are set up in your firmware.
The best way of hooking the endstops up is so they stop the motors if they are triggered or fail in some way.