Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS and D1 diode

Posted by kreidler 
RAMPS and D1 diode
February 10, 2015 02:49PM
I posted the questions already in the German section but unfortunately without a response up to now.

My RAMPS 1.4 is equipped with a Full Graphic Smart Controller. D1 and D2 are factory soldered on the board. The unit works with and without USB connected to the Arduino. Unfortunately the wiki section for the RAMPS confuses me more than it helps as I am new to reprap.

Therefore some questions:
1. I want to use the PS-ON on the RAMPS for switching the ATX-PSU. I assume that I have to connect additionally the 5V standby from the PSU to the 5V rail located near to the PS-ON. Correct?
2. For the beginning I would like to have USB permanently connected to the Arduino. Later on a raspberry may do the job on the same line. Do I have to remove D1 in this case or does it not matter if the RAMPS supply voltage will be around 12V?
2a. If the diode has to be removed, can I use as a workaround an USB data cable without the 5V connection?

Any comments appreciated.
Matthias
Re: RAMPS and D1 diode
February 10, 2015 04:02PM
kreidler
1. I want to use the PS-ON on the RAMPS for switching the ATX-PSU. I assume that I have to connect additionally the 5V standby from the PSU to the 5V rail located near to the PS-ON. Correct?

The 5V header where you indicate only will power the servo headers. It won't power the 5V rail in general. Attach the 5VSB and ground wire to a barrel connector and plug that into the Arduino. This will allow you to power the Arduino, and the LCD display, with out having the ATX power supply on. Attach the PS_ON wire to the power supply to the PS_ON pin.

2. For the beginning I would like to have USB permanently connected to the Arduino. Later on a raspberry may do the job on the same line. Do I have to remove D1 in this case or does it not matter if the RAMPS supply voltage will be around 12V?