Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ramps 1.4 with graphical display: China LCD-Board Robotale 12864 layout wrong?

Posted by Chris D. 
Ramps 1.4 with graphical display: China LCD-Board Robotale 12864 layout wrong?
February 12, 2015 01:00PM
Hi folks,

I'm new to 3D printing and want to build my own 3D printer using Ramps 1.4 with graphical display.

Ok, the mechanical parts are still on their way so I tried the electronics which arrived yesterday.
I'm quite new to Arduino (usually I am programming the AVRs directly via C,C++), so I hope I did everything right on the software side (yes, I uncomment #define REPRAP_DISCOUNT_FULL_GRAPHIC_SMART_CONTROLLER etc.)

Ok, I have programmed the Arduino board with the current development version of Marlin 1.0.2 and in the serial console I get some messages of the software until I get a "echo:sd init fail" error which is ok because I haven't inserted a SD card :-)

Now I could press the incremetal switch button and got beeps from the buzzer, but the display stayed empty (the backlight worked).

I checked the cables etc. but nothing made the LCD working.

I have programmed such graphical displays in the past and knew that the programming data flow via DB4-DB7 in most cases. Due to the lack of a pin connecting diagram of the two 10 pin headers I tried to measure the connection from the LCD module to the two headers for all relevand pins (DB4-DB/, E, RS,R/W) but didn't find a wiring for DB4-DB7!

This seemed to be strange so I desoldered the display from its board (see photos) and found my measurements confirmed:

There are no connections to any of the LCD data lines. Only E, RS and R/W are connected!

Most other pins of the LCD header are connected to the test point (?) row of vias obove them.
The red board is a simple double layers board so there are no internal layers etc. There are simply no data connections!

So the reason for no display data seems to be a wrong layout!