Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Yaxis not working with new step stick

Posted by bchamp4 
Yaxis not working with new step stick
June 16, 2015 06:24PM
Hello RepRap,

This is my first post so if I break any cardinal rules please be patient. And yes, I'm a noob.
I did a few searches on this (and other forums) but didn't find anything that looked like what I'm experiencing so I thought I'd post my cry for help here. Thanks in advance for any help!

I've been working on my first build, Prusa i3, RAMPS 1.4, Stepper Drivers A4988, ATMEGA 2560.

Managed to get the printer up and running briefly. Was in the process of doing some calibration and the Yaxis stepper motor stopped moving. I had successfully moved X, Y, Z, and E1 previously. The last movement I got from the Yaxis sounded like I'd hit the end of the carriage even though I was at the mid-way point. Loud rattling sound. I thought maybe one of the bearings might have bound up or something. After powering down I was able to move the Yaxis manually and it didn't feel like it was in a mechanical bind.

I figured that maybe something went wrong with the stepper driver module. I moved the Yaxis motor leads over to the Xaxis and the Yaxis motor ran ok. Next I located a spare A4988 driver module and replaced the one on the Yaxis on the RAMPS board. Connected the Yaxis motor leads back on the Yaxis position, and got no movement. Hmmmm...
Thinking that maybe the spare A4988 was bad, I switched it with the Xaxis module and it worked in that position. Hmmm... (again)
So, I'm thinking that it is either the voltage supply or signaling to the Yaxis position on the RAMPS board OR something in the circuitry from the ATMEGA board that feeds the RAMPS board.
I don't know what steps to take to troubleshoot that question to isolate the problem further.

Any suggestions or advice would be most welcome.

Thanks!
Re: Yaxis not working with new step stick
June 17, 2015 05:55AM