Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Blinking LCD

Posted by beastro 
Blinking LCD
April 08, 2018 04:38AM
Hi,

I am new to 3d printing and inherited an old selfmade printer with Arduino 2560 and Ramps 1.4. I updated the Marlin firmware to the latest stable version and more or less got everything running with the following exceptions:

• The LCD - RepRap Smart controller - is displaying Text correctly and shows the menus, but it is constantly alternating between the first menupoint and its contents (like blinking). It appears as if the encoder button would be constantly pressed. I assume that either the encoder is faulty, or there must be a short circuit somewhere. However, I could not find schematics for the controller to carry out educated probing of the board.
    Of course, I configured it in configuration.h, but what also caught my attention is that after booting the kill switch was always activated and I had to deactivate the kill switch in the pins_ramps.h for that controller assigning it to pin -1. Another thing is that the reset button does not seem to work.
    I shielded the connecting cables, so that should not be a problem.
  • When I first connected the board, the temperature was correctly given for the heatbed. However at one point it went up to 330 ºC without the bed being heated. The previous owner had the kit mounted on a metal screw passing through both boards, so I guess it shorted. Anyway, I mounted it on plastic standoffs to remove the issue.