Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ramps 1.4 power source wiring problems

Posted by iliyan.tanev 
Ramps 1.4 power source wiring problems
December 24, 2021 04:58AM
Hey Guys,

I might've burned my ramps 1.4 board (maybe?). The thing is I don't know what I did wrong, so I wanna ask you for your best-educated guesses as I'm pretty new to this stuff.

So here's what happened. I have a led power supply:

It is meant to take 240v and give back 12 VDC, 16.6 amps. Here's how the power cord is wired:

And the cables that should go into my ramps are wired like this:

I need only power for the stepper motors, reprap full smart graphics display, and endstops. From my limited understanding, the first plus-minus pair should be enough?

Anyway, I initially wired both power plus-minus pairs (don't know how these are called). According to the voltmeter, the expected voltage flows through the wires - 12 volts. Nothing was happening in the first couple of mins so I started measuring the voltage of the wires. This is when I got several flashes from my LCD display like it was turning on and off, right after that I got some sparks and smoke from my ramps board. You can see from the image below where the fire show appeared.

Of course, I immediately cut off the power.
Just to see if the board is still alive I connected it to my laptop's USB and the LCD display came alive as expected + the orange light on the ramps board that indicates it is turned on. So I'm not sure if I fried something important on the board.
As I mentioned I only need the stepper motors, the display, and the endstops for my project. Don't care about the extruders or fans.

I tried it again this morning with just a single plus-minus pair, but nothing came alive. Like there is no power going through the board. Still, the LCD display and the board (at least the orange light and the reset button) works when powered with the USB from my laptop.