Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS 1.4 + Mega 2560 & Sprinter

Posted by fteo88 
RAMPS 1.4 + Mega 2560 & Sprinter
September 25, 2011 02:29PM
I am a newbie with RAMPS. I have been using Sanguinolulu for about 3 months w. Sprinter and Pronterface. I ran this on Prusa Mendel.
Before I start firmware update the RAMPS, I have a few questions that I can't find on wiki or here.

Is the configuration.h for motherboard 33 for RAMPS 1.4? Sprinter list up to RAMPS 1.3 motherboard as 33.
On Arduino 022 the board selection should be my Arduino Mega 2560, correct?
Last step, compile and upload? Any tips or steps that I am missing?
Re: RAMPS 1.4 + Mega 2560 & Sprinter
September 27, 2011 02:30AM
If you are using a mega 2560 then yes the specified board in the arduino program should be mega 2560.

I use a 1280 and so specify 1280 - my understanding is that this is simply for the arduino software to connect to the board properly - the uploaded firmware would be the same in either case but you must specify the actual board that you are using in the arduino software prior to upload.

So

1. Edit the files you want as necessary inside the sprinter folder
2. Open the pde file into arduino software (and it load associated files together with it)
3. Double check you have spec'ed the right arduino board that you are using.
4. Compile
5. If compiling is error free then click upload.

You can do all this when its all plugged together to the printer (or when it isn't), if it's all hooked up then close the arduino software and try connecting to the printer with pronterface.
September 27, 2011 02:37AM
Sorry, didn't mean to ignore your other query ... I don't have the answer though. I think it only changes which pins are set to which functions in the firmware.

I would guess that the pins in ramps 1.3 and 1.4 are very similar if not the same but I don't know (I use ramps 1.2 and haven't looked at the other two much at all).