Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can't connect Repsnapper to printer

Posted by naples 
Can't connect Repsnapper to printer
October 03, 2011 05:33PM
Having finally got my first Prusa (and first 3D printer for that matter) finshed I tried to connect the electronics to my PC. I've uploaded firmware and the relevant drivers but cannot figure out why Repsnapper is not connecting. When I click 'Connect to Printer' the green indictor briefly changes to lighter green and the LED in the board flashes but then goes out.
I really have no idea where to start here. I'm not a developer or engineer just someone interested who's finding it pretty hard to piece together all the piecemeal facts so any help and guidance is greatly appreciated.

Repsnapper v. [not sure]
Ramps 1.3
Arduino MEGA 2560
uploaded Sprinter firmware (changed the configuration.h file so that selected '33' for RAMPS 1.3)
downloaded/installed the Arduinio driver software

Possibly a stupid question and maybe the answer to all of the above but can I run my Prusa just off a USB connection or must I also use a 12v 5A power supply?

Thanks
Re: Can't connect Repsnapper to printer
October 03, 2011 05:35PM
USB won't power your Prusa. It only can power the Arduino board (but not the steppers).
October 03, 2011 05:46PM
Thanks Misan. I thought that was the case but had read one post on another site yesterday that stated you could just use a USB. SImply connecting a power source shouldn't affect whether my computer connects to the printer should it?
October 04, 2011 09:07PM
It should still talk to the board and check the temp - won't be able to heat or move the motors without the other power supply though. Don't do what I did and get a 12v 5a power supply - the 5 amps is a minimum and most people seem to run with more when you look into it.

I replaced with a 10 amp, solved a few problems for me.
October 05, 2011 04:03AM