Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Range for extrusion multiplier and stuff

Posted by kburgess 
Range for extrusion multiplier and stuff
May 31, 2012 12:43AM
First let me say I'm just getting started at this so please be kind if I ask some dumb questions.

In regards to the "Extrusion multiplier" I have been using a 3mm extruder with good results having calibrated the extruder by modifying the config file of the Marlin firmware until the length of input filament extruded is what is specified by the user variable in proterface. I extrude 100mm of filament and exactly 100mm goes in. Then I measured the filament diameter and entered that into Slic3r, slice up my parts and the thing worked pretty well.

I'm doing some finer work so decided to switch to 1.75 mm filement and a new extruder. I did the same calibration as I did with the 3mm filament, and entered the measured value of 1.74mm into slic3r, but when I started printing parts way too much plastic was being extruded. I had to set the Extrusion multiplier down to 0.5 before the parts started working and looking good. What am I doing wrong?

Also, is there a reference that describes what each of the parameters in Slic3r do? Most of them are obvious, but others I'm not sure about, specifically "First layer height ratio" and the effect of the "Nozzle diameter". Also "Extrusion width" in Advanced.

Thanks,
Ken
Re: Range for extrusion multiplier and stuff
May 31, 2012 02:01AM
Ken,

>Also, is there a reference that describes what each of the parameters in Slic3r do? Most of them are obvious, but others I'm >not sure about, specifically "First layer height ratio" and the effect of the "Nozzle diameter". Also "Extrusion width" in >Advanced.

I found Slic3r is nicer link a great starting point.

Mike
May 31, 2012 02:43AM
Wow, great link, thanks!
But it makes me even more confused as to why my Extrusion multiplier must be set so small, it should be 1, but that puts out like WAY too much plastic...
Ken