Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pronterface problem

Posted by polisher44 
Pronterface problem
April 14, 2016 11:15AM
I am a newbie. Have printed successfully from my Medel90 + Panelulo2 from files on the SD card prepared by the previous owner of the machine.
Downloaded some files into slic3r fine. Sliced and sent .G file to Pronterface. Pronterface appears to process OK with all the preprint reports giving the correct sizes and weight. when I print thro the USB cable the printer moves about 1/10th scale. - Must be doing something real dumb. But I have seemingly checked every parameter I can find without success. Pulled down three different files all process correctly.
Any ideas as to what trick I am missing here please.
Re: Pronterface problem
April 14, 2016 05:47PM
Sounds a lot like the steps per mm are set incorrectly, but the fact that you can print other files without problem seems to indicate that the slicer settings are at fault. The only thing is that the slicer generally doesn't know anything about steps per mm of the printer. Could it be that the previous owner had the steps per mm wrong all along and was just compensating by scaling the models before slicing?

If you do a manual move does it move the indicated distance?

Is there a way to set cm vs mm as the units of the incoming STL files?
April 15, 2016 01:37AM
Hi - Thanks for reply. Will be trawling through the Gcode, on the good files, for clues today.
April 15, 2016 09:03AM
No clues in the Gcode.
How does Slic3r find the steps per minute for it`s configuration? I have not found a reference to it, or a call for it.
Here`s hoping that someone will know better.
April 15, 2016 06:10PM
Slicer doesn't your firmware does.
April 17, 2016 02:23AM
Would the steps in the firmware be incorrect if it is working from the the old print files. I guess I am asking if the step/min/sec are contained in Gcode/*.G files. If this is the case then I can see way forward.